2017 Excellence in Climbing Awards

June 03, 2017 5:00 - 10:00 pm

The Westin Denver Downtown, Lawrence Street, Denver, CO

Tickets Now Available

Browse, Bid and Buy


Not attending?

You can still participate in the auction!

Donate Now

Support Preservation of Climbing History.

No act of generosity is too small to make a difference.

Join the American Alpine Club for a fun-filled evening of climbing, community, and celebration!

The Excellence in Climbing Awards will include a cocktail reception, silent and live auctions, entertainment, scrumptious food, awards, and an after party with live 80's music by The Goonies.

The highlight of the evening will be inducting the 2017 Hall of Mountaineering Excellence awardees: Sean Patrick, David Morton and Melissa Arnot Reid, Sean and Timmy O'Neill, and former AAC President Doug Walker. These deserving climbers have achieved greatness in the mountains and returned home to give back to their communities. We will also be recognizing the 2017 Cutting Edge Award winners: Scott Bennett and Graham Zimmerman.

Proceeds benefit the American Alpine Club Library and Bradford Washburn American Mountaineering Museum.

For more information, please visit our event website.


Friday, June 2

5pm - 7pm: VIP Gathering

7pm: Climbers' Gathering

Saturday, June 3

5pm - 7pm: Reception, food, drinks, games, silent auction

7pm - 8:30pm: Awards, entertainment, live auction

8:30pm - 12am: After Party with live music, raffle, drinks

Photo: AAC member Michael Lim

Contact Us

The American Alpine Club
If you have any questions please contact Heidi Medema at hmedema@americanalpineclub.org


The Westin Denver Downtown, Lawrence Street, Denver, CO

Share Our Event

Help us spread the word!